Latest news 
Headline << Back     More >>   
Clay Pigeon win for Southern
New Pictures
Southern Win Concert
Concert Ticket Rush
Rugby Win
Stubbs Quiz Tues 14 Dec
Listen to the Countryside Program
Federation - AGM Officials

Changes at Young Farmers' Federation

Article from IOM Online - November 2007

New officials for the forthcoming year were elected at the annual general meeting of the Federation of Young Farmers' Clubs last week.

Retiring chairman Andy Corrin gave a resume of the year's events and said it had been an enjoyable and successful one for the Federation.

He thanked members for their support before handing over the reins to Lucy Webster, of the Eastern Young Farmers.

Angela Taggart agreed to carry on as secretary for a second year assisted by Sheila Skillicorn, of the Central Young Farmers and Chris Kneale, of the Northern Young Farmers, was elected vice chairman.

After nine years Zoe Kelly, of the Southern Young Farmers, retired as treasurer a post she had conducted with commitment and excellent efficiency. She was thanked by members for her long service and a presentation was made to her by the outgoing chairman. Jenny Stowell, of the Eastern Young Farmers, is her successor and throughout the year will be assisted by Zoe.

Andy Corrin, of the Southern Young Farmers, was elected as Federation leader and it was agreed to keep the advisors the same Kenny Coole, Adrian Corlett, James Radcliffe and Murray Cringle.

Alan Radcliffe, of the Northern Young Farmers, accepted the role as the National Farmers' Union representative with Richard Creer, of the Southern Young Farmers as deputy representative. Sarah Teare-Kermeen, of the Northern Young Farmers, was elected as Royal Manx Agricultural Show representative.

During the meeting a new post was introduced Northern Area Co-ordinator Representative which Suzanne Slater, of the Eastern Young Farmers, agreed to hold.

Awards for the past year were presented, two of which were unable to be presented due to the cancellation of events because of the outbreak of foot-and-mouth disease in the UK.

Meanwhile the G. M. Quayle Cup for the Ambassador from the Isle of Man was awarded jointly to Richard Creer and Alan Radcliffe. The J. Bregazzi Cup for the best team competing away went to Central Young Farmers member Daniel Creer. The R. Watson Shield for the best young farmer of 2007 was won by Daniel Creer, followed by Alan Radcliffe in second place and Sarah Teare-Kermeen in third.

The Bibbys Cup for best lady farmer was won by Sarah Teare-Kermeen with Zoe Kelly in second and Sam Comaish-Coole in third place.